About the Auditor
About the Auditor

Karen T. Bailey, Auditor

Karen became a part of the Champaign County Auditor’s office on May 1, 2009. She is currently serving her second term as elected county auditor.


Karen’s employment history includes over 23 years at the Lucas County Auditor’s office in Toledo, Ohio. She began her career as a file clerk in 1984 and eventually worked her way up to senior staff where she served as Director of Taxation for over 13 years.


Karen graduated from the University of Toledo in 2006 with a Master’s degree in education.


Karen was born and raised in St. Paris. She attended Graham Local Schools through her freshman year, and then she graduated from Mansfield Malabar High School in 1980.


Karen is married, the mother of three children and grandmother of six.


Karen feels blessed that she was able to return to her hometown community and to serve the public as county auditor. She absolutely loves this job!

Data
Download

You may download the CAMA data here

Estate Tax
Information

Estate Tax

Filing is no longer required for the estates of individuals with a date of death on or after January 1, 2013

The Ohio Estate Tax has been repealed for the estates of individuals dying on or after January 1, 2013. See House Bill 153, 129th General Assembly. Under this repeal of the Ohio Estate Tax, no Ohio Estate Tax returns should be filed for individuals dying on or after January 1, 2013.

However, the Ohio Estate Tax is still in effect for individuals dying prior to January 1, 2013, who have a gross estate greater than $338,333.00

For more information on Ohio Estate Taxes and forms, please contact the Ohio Department of Taxation, or you may visit the website at:

Homestead Exemption
Information

2021 Qualification Requirements

To qualify, homeowners must be (1) at least 65 years of age or permanently and totally disabled, (2) Own their home as their principal place of residence, and (3) have a household Ohio Adjusted Gross 2020 income that is less than $34,200.

The Homestead Exemption Program helps Ohioans age 65 and older (or totally and permanently disabled persons) that own their home as their principal place of residence with assistance on their real estate tax bill. The local political subdivisions are reimbursed by the State for any savings provided to the homeowner. The Homestead Exemption Program can result in significant savings on your property tax bill. The savings is calculated on $25,000 of taxable value (limited to the home site) and varies by taxing district.


Homestead Exemption

2020 Tax Savings

Maximum $426.00

Average $354.00

Minimum $304.00


Links & Forms

Manufactured Homes
Information

Links & Forms


Manufactured homes are those which have titles, and are to be registered in the office of the County Auditor within 30 days of being placed on a property. To complete this transaction an owner must complete an application, send a photo copy of the title and pay all taxes currently owed on the property.

When a manufactured home is transferred (sold to a new owner) the title must be notarized by the previous owner and given to the new owner. Ohio law says that failure to give a new owner the notarized title is punishable by 90 days in jail and a $200.00 fine. A penalty will also be imposed if the title is not transferred within 30 days. (It is the responsibility of the previous owner to make certain the transfer was completed.) Failure to register with the Auditor’s office is punishable by a fine of $100.00 as well. The current taxes must be paid and a stamp from the Treasurer must be placed upon the title indicating the same before it can be transferred to the new owner. As of January 1, 2000 there is no longer sales tax charged on the purchase price but instead the new owner must pay a conveyance fee of $4.00 per one thousand dollars of the sale price and $.50 per title.

The notarized title must be delivered to the Clerk of Courts in any county as cross-county titling became effective in March of 2002. A new title will be issued in the name of the new owner. Within 30 days of the date the conveyance fees are paid, the new owner must register with the County Auditor's Office where the manufactured home resides. Failure to register will result in a $100.00 fine.

If a manufactured/mobile home is moved from one location to another, regardless of how far, a moving permit must be acquired from the County Auditor where the home presently sits. The fee for the permit is $5.00. Failure to purchase a moving permit will result in a $100.00 fine for the owner and also a $100.00 fine for the person who moved it.

A mobile home may be converted to permanent real property by application. To convert, it must be on a permanent foundation which goes below the frost line, the wheels and tongue must be removed, all taxes must be paid and the original (lien free) title must be surrendered to the Auditor.

A manufactured home is taxable if it is inhabited or has a use. A good rule is if the structure has not been destroyed (completely knocked off its frame), then it is taxable. If an owner wishes to junk his/her manufactured home, the proper form may be completed at the Auditor’s office. Again, taxes must be current and a stamp placed on the front stating said taxes are in fact current. After completion of this task, the title is then surrendered to the County Auditor with the proper form.

Tax Rates & Valuations
Board of Revision
Information

Forms


Board of Revision

1512 South Hwy 68, Suite B300

Urbana, Ohio 43078

937-484-1600


County Commissioner, President

Champaign County Treasurer

Champaign County Auditor

The auditor also serves as secretary to this board.

Tax Distribution Breakdown
Conveyance Fees
Information

Links & Forms

Conveyance Fees Effective March 1, 2009

Real Estate Conveyance Fee:  $4.00 per thousand

Real Estate Transfer Fee:  $0.50 per parcel

Manufactured Home Conveyance Fee:  $4.00 per thousand

Manufactured Home Transfer Fee:  $0.50 per title


Notice: Effective December 1, 2015 all transfers must comply with the new real estate conveyance standards.

Dog License
Information

Links & Forms



When to license your dog

Annual renewals are from December 1 thru January 31. Licensing your dog is a state law and is required when your dog reaches three months of age. If you have a new dog or move from another state, you have 30 days to purchase their tag.


Kennel License

Kennel Licenses follow the same laws as above. All dogs, three months or older, are required to have a tag. The license comes with 5 tags. Additional tags are $1.00 each. Kennel Licenses are only available for purchase at the Auditor's Office. Ohio Law describes a kennel as breeding dogs for hunting or for sale. Selling dogs also requires a Vendor's License. Owning many dogs is not a kennel.


Tag Fees

Dog Tags are $16.00 each. A duplicate tag to replace a lost tag is $5.00 each. To transfer a current license to a new owner there is a form (see link above) and the cost is $5.00. Kennel Licenses are $80.00 for the first 5 tags, $1.00 for each additional tag.


Late Fees

Ohio Law requires a late fee equal to the cost of the license beginning February 1st. There is no provision in the law to waive the fee. The cost of a dog tag will be $32.00. The Kennel License will be $160.00.


How to Renew in Person

Champaign County Auditor's Office

1512 S. US Hwy 68, Suite B300

Urbana, OH 43078

(937)484-1600, option 5

Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:00 pm

Note: Kennel Licenses are only available at the Auditor's Office


DOG TAGS MAY BE PURCHASED AT 6 REMOTE LOCATIONS

Satellite Locations:

Note: A processing fee is charged at satellite locations.


Barely Used Pets

844 Jackson Hill Rd.

Urbana, OH 43078

(937)869-8090


Downing Hardware

29 S. Main St.

Mechanicsburg, OH 43044

(937)834-5154


St Paris Hardware

114 W. Main St.

St Paris, OH 43072

(937) 663-4251


 Urbana Veterinary Clinic

985 Norwood Ave

Urbana, OH 43078

(937) 653-7326

www.UrbanaVC.com


On-Line

Click on the link above and follow the directions. There is a processing and mailing fee. A receipt will be mailed to you, along with your tag(s).


By Mail

Print an application at the above link. Send the completed form, the total dog tag fee, and $.50 mailing fee to the address on the form. Do Not Send Cash. A receipt will be mailed to you, along with your tag(s).


Questions & Answers

Must my dog wear the tag?

Yes. Ohio law requires it.


Can I let my dog run loose if they have a tag?

No. It is against the law. Your dog must be confined to your yard or on a leash. Loose dogs can be hit by a car, become lost, damage neighbor's property, injure another animal or person, or be picked up by the Dog Warden. Any of these can potentially cost you a lot of money.


What do I do if my dog is lost?

Call the Dog Warden at 484-1613. You may also want to call the Auditor's Office at 484-1600, the animal shelters, and the local veterinarians. Putting up posters and an ad in local newspapers will also help.


What do I do if I find a dog?

If the dog is wearing a Champaign County tag, call the Auditor's Office or the Dog Warden. If the dog is not wearing a tag, call the Dog Warden at 484-1613.


What do I do if I move?

Champaign County dog tags are good throughout Ohio. Contact us with your new address and phone number. If you move out of state, you will need to purchase new tags in that state.


What are the dog and Kennel laws in Ohio?

You can look up the laws on the internet under ORC Chapter 955.


Helpful Links

Vendor's License
Information

Links and Forms


A Vendor's License for an Ohio business serves several purposes. First, it gives notice to the local County Auditor and the Ohio Department of Taxation that a new business has been created. Second, it authorizes a business to make taxable sales and collect sales tax. It does not give a company or person an exemption from paying sales tax. Obtaining a vendor's license solely to avoid paying sales tax is a fraudulent act and a violation of Ohio law.


In addition, a vendor's license helps the consumer understand more about the business with which they are dealing. Every business must post its vendor's license in clear sight of the public, so that the owner or company name, the business or trade name, the business address, business telephone number and the primary kind of business being operated can easily be seen.


The Champaign County Auditor issues the vendor's license for a business with a permanent store front. For each location, a separate license must be obtained. The fee is $25.00 Contact the Champaign County Auditor's Office at 937-484-1600 for more information. If you are outside the county, contact your local County Auditor.


A Transient Vendor's License is issued directly by the Ohio Department of Taxation to a vendor with no fixed place of business.


Service companies and delivery vendors also need a vendor's license. The Department of Taxation issues these.


To purchase a license online you must go to Ohio Business Gateway's link above and log in. The fee for a license is $25.00.


Contact the Columbus District Office at (888) 405-4039 for answers to any questions you may have.


A vendor’s license is canceled by completing line 10 on the final return indicating the last day of business.


Champaign County sales tax is 7.25%.

Weights & Measures
Information and Links

The weights and measures department is responsible for checking a number of things for accuracy. Some of these include:

  • UPC labels on products to verify that the price marked is the price that is charged.
  • We check gas pumps to make sure you are receiving the amount of gas indicated by the pump.
  • Scales at groceries, meat counters, produce departments and at registers are also certified for accuracy.
  • Orchards and produce stands scales are checked seasonally.
  • Scales at schools are certified during certain sporting events.
  • Doctor's offices, weight loss clinics, and nursing homes are certified upon request.
  • Commercial scales at elevators, quarries and stock yards are also checked.
  • Meters on commercial gas trucks (heating oil as well as petrol).
  • We also check bagged products such as feeds and mulches for weight accuracy.

If you are going into business or you are already in business and will be using a scale, please contact our office for more information. Not all scales can be certified.

Check the National Type Evaluation Program for a certificate of conformance, this will list the acceptable scales for commercial use.

You will need a manufacturer name and model to check for the certificate on the NTEP website link, which is below.

There should be a label on the scale with all the information including serial# & capacity.

These services are performed to insure the consumer is getting the value advertised on the product and protect the buyer and seller.

Further, if you believe a gas pump or scale did not perform properly for the goods you received, please contact the Auditor's Office, Weights & Measures Division 937-484-1600.


Useful Links